Default Image Blossom Image

Opera: Leoš Janáček's The Cunning Little Vixen

[Error: No property "CustomProperty3".]

Martina Janková, soprano (Vixen)
Alan Held, bass-baritone (Forester)
Jennifer Johnson Cano, mezzo-soprano (Fox)
Raymond Aceto, bass (Harašta)
Julie Boulianne, 
mezzo-soprano (The Dog Lapák)
Dashon Burton, bass-baritone (Parson/Badger)
David Cangelosi, tenor (Schoolmaster/Mosquito)
Cleveland Orchestra Chorus

Cleveland Orchestra Children's Chorus
The Cleveland Orchestra
conducted by Franz Welser-Möst


Don't miss the opera event of the season!  With this compelling new production of Leoš Janáček's The Cunning Little Vixen, created specifically for Severance Hall.  Presented with innovative and original animation, this world premiere production plumbs the depths of human experience in a charming tale of love, peril, freedom, and family.  On the surface, the story is about childish things, but underneath human emotions boil over and burst apart between the "animals of the forest" and their human interlocutors. 

The opera's starring role, portrayed for Cleveland by favorite Czech soprano Martina Jarková, wends her way through life's cycles of learning and danger, love and happiness. Janáček's score from 1924 mixes lyrical symphonic writing with intriguing rhythmic touches, lovingly combined with the songful serenity and energetic pulse of Moravian folk music. Don't miss this unique, made-for-Cleveland presentation!

At a Glance
JANÁČEK - The Cunning Little Vixen
(Opera sung in Czech with projected English supertitles.)

Directed by Yuval Sharon
Animation by
Bill Barminski and Christopher Louie — Walter Robot Studios
Projection and lighting design by Jason Thompson
Costumes by
Ann Closs-Farley
Mask designs by Cristina Waltz
The opera is presented without intermission
and will run about 90 minutes in performance.

This opera production is supported, in part,
by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
and by the National Endowment for the Arts.

Back to Top

Severance Restaurant

Severance Restaurant at Severance Hall features contemporary American cuisine in an elegant setting and is perfect for a quick bite or leisurely dinner before the concert.

The restaurant is located on the street level of Severance Hall along East Boulevard. 

A Pre-concert dinner service begins up to three hours before each Cleveland Orchestra evening concert.  For Friday Morning Coffee concerts, luncheon service is available.  Pre-concert luncheon service is offered before Cleveland Orchestra matinee concerts on Sunday afternoons.

Reservations are advised.

For Severance Restaurant reservations, 
please call 216-231-7373 anytime,
or reserve online:

Back to Top

About the Music

Commentary and historical background about the music are printed in program books distributed free-of-charge at most Cleveland Orchestra concerts. The program notes are usually available on-line ahead of time.

Click here to read the program book for this concert.

Or visit our online Program Book Archive.

Back to Top


A variety of parking options are available for concerts at Severance Hall, including guaranteed pre-paid parking passes (purchased through the Ticket Office or via this website) for many but not all events.

The Case Western Reserve University Campus Center Garage is located directly adjacent to Severance Hall (parking entrance is off East Boulevard), with stair and elevator access to Severance Hall.  Event parking in the Campus Center Garage can be purchased for $11 per vehicle when space permits. However, the garage often fills up well before concert time and only patrons who purchase pre-paid parking passes are ensured a parking space. 

close croppedPre-Paid Parking for the Campus Center Garage can be purchased for many concerts in advance for $15 per concert by calling the Ticket Office or through this website.  Pre-paid parking guarantees you a space, but availability of pre-paid parking passes is limited.  

If you are purchasing online via this website, you will have the opportunity after selecting your concert tickets to add pre-paid parking (if pre-paid parking is available for your performance) to your order.  Please note that each pre-paid parking pass is for a specific date and concert).

If you have already purchased concert tickets, you can still purchase pre-paid parking online by locating the car icon at the top righthand side of this page.  The text with the icon will show you whether pre-paid parking is availble.  Click on the link.

Parking can also be purchased through the Ticket Office by calling 216-231-1111.

Limited additional event parking is available in the Case Western Reserve University Lot 1 off Euclid Avenue across from Severance Hall, or at the University Circle Lot 13A on Adelbert Road, and at the Cleveland Botanical Garden parking garage on East Boulevard.  Space at these lots may be particularly limited during weekday daytime hours.  Some on-street parking is also available, but often fills up well before curtain time.

For a printable map of parking areas surrounding Severance Hall, click here.

Back to Top