Default Image Blossom Image

— N E W S - R E L E A S E —

Pianist Lucas Debargue to make his Cleveland recital debut at Severance Hall on February 3, 2017

Program features works by Chopin, Medtner, Ravel, and Scarlatti

Release:  October 18, 2016

CLEVELAND – The Cleveland Orchestra announces that French pianist Lucas Debargue will appear in recital in Severance Hall’s Reinberger Chamber Hall on Friday, February 3, 2017, at 8:00 p.m.  The recital marks his Cleveland recital debut. 

Lucas Debargue created a sensation at the 2015 International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, and was the recipient of the Moscow Music Critics Association prize for “the pianist whose incredible gift, artistic vision and creative freedom have impressed the critics as well as the audience.” Huffington Post France reported that “there has never been a foreign pianist who caused such a stir since Glenn Gould’s arrival in Moscow and Van Cliburn’s victory at the Tchaikovsky Competition [in 1958].” 

Mr. Debargue’s Cleveland recital opens with Sonata in C major, K. 132 by Domenico Scarlatti, followed by Chopin’s Ballade No. 4, Opus 52 and Ravel’s Gaspard de la nuit.  After intermission, the program concludes with Nikolai Medtner’s Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Opus 5. The Medtner and Ravel works were among those that Mr. Debargue performed during the 2015 International Tchaikovsky Competition.  His performance of these two works in the Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory during the second round at the Tchaikovsky Competition may be viewed here.

Further information on Lucas Debargue may be found here, and his website may be accessed here.

Tickets, priced at $39 and $49 are on sale now through the Severance Hall Ticket Office, online at, or by calling Cleveland Orchestra Ticket Services at 216-231-1111 or 1-800-686-1141.


Friday, February 3, 2017 at 8 p.m.
Reinberger Chamber Hall at Severance Hall

Lucas Debargue, piano

SCARLATTI  Sonata in C major, K. 132
CHOPIN  Ballade No. 4, Opus 52
RAVEL  Gaspard de la nuit
MEDTNER  Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Opus 5

Lucas Debargue began studying piano seriously only four years before entering the esteemed 2015 International Tchaikovsky Competition. Yet his artistry, originality, and technical brilliance placed him ahead of dozens of fellow competitors and won the hearts of the Moscow audience. His fourth-prize finish prompted a storm of controversy, but the Moscow Music Critics Association awarded him their prize for “the pianist … whose incredible gift, artistic vision and creative freedom have impressed the critics as well as the audience.” The Cleveland debut of this brilliant pianist is not to be missed.

TICKETS: $39 and $49

All programs, artists, and prices are subject to change.



Concerts take place at Severance Hall, 11001 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland.  The Severance Hall Ticket Office is located on street level in the Smith Lobby. The entrance and 15-minute Ticket Service parking are along the west side of the building, on East Boulevard.  Severance Hall Ticket Office hours are Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. and Saturdays from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (closed Sundays and holidays except for those days with performances, when the Ticket Office will be open three hours prior to each performance).

For information about parking for Severance Hall concerts, click here.

Photo: © Felix Broede/Sony Classical