Default Image Blossom Image

Sonja Braaten Molloy

Sonja Braaten Molloy Photograph by Roger Mastroianni

The Cleveland Orchestra

Sonja Braaten Molloy joined the second violin section of The Cleveland Orchestra beginning with the 2000 Blossom Festival season. Prior to joining the Orchestra, she served as associate concertmaster of the Canton Symphony Orchestra.  She earned bachelor and master of music degrees from the Cleveland Institute of Music (CIM), where she studied with Cleveland Orchestra concertmaster William Preucil, David Updegraff, and Linda Cerone.  At CIM, Ms. Molloy was a recipient of the Jerome Gross Prize in Violin, was named Theodore Presser Scholar, and was co-recipient of the Bennett Levine Memorial Award in Chamber Music. Ms. Molloy has participated in the Aspen Music Festival and the Sarasota Music Festival, and served as co-concertmaster of the National Repertory Orchestra in Colorado.  She was a featured collaborator in the Austin Chamber Music Center’s 2007-08 season and frequently performs in San Diego’s Mainly Mozart festival as both a chamber and orchestral musician.  Raised in Twin Cities, Minnesota, Ms. Molloy resides in Cleveland Heights.

Donate Image

The Cleveland Orchestra Preservation Fund

Your gift today will help us weather the COVID-19 crisis and keep music alive in our community!

Select a donation amount