Romeo and Juliet Listening Map
(Grades 6-8)

Follow the visual listening map as you listen to Prokofiev’s “Montagues and Capulets” from Romeo and Juliet. Listening maps are tools to help hone your skills in identifying melodies, instruments and themes, and visualizing the musical excerpts. Pay special attention to the sounds of the instruments, such as the dynamics (how loud or soft) and the pitch (how high or low). This lesson was originally created as a preparatory resource for a Cleveland Orchestra Education Concert.

Resources: Listening Map (PDF)

Other videos like this one

Donate Image

The Cleveland Orchestra Preservation Fund

Your gift today will help us weather the COVID-19 crisis and keep music alive in our community!

Select a donation amount