Default Image Blossom Image

— N E W S - R E L E A S E —

Rosemary Klena to be honored with Cleveland Orchestra’s twentieth annual Distinguished Service Award

Award to be presented at opening night of The Cleveland Orchestra’s 2015-16 Severance Hall season on Thursday, September 24

Release:  September 10, 2015

CLEVELAND ─ Rosemary Klena is receiving the 20th annual Cleveland Orchestra Distinguished Service Award, honoring a person or organization that has provided continuing exemplary service to the Orchestra.  Ms. Klena, who retired from the Orchestra's staff at the end of July 2015, has served as the institution's Executive Assistant across the tenures of three administrative leaders since joining the organization in 1984.  The Award will be presented to Ms. Klena prior to The Cleveland Orchestra concert on Thursday, September 24, 2015 by Musical Arts Association Board President Dennis W. LaBarre.  

Rosemary Klena was first hired by the institution in 1984, as Secretary to General Manager Kenneth Haas, and continued serving as Executive Assistant to Thomas W. Morris (Executive Director, 1987-2004) and Gary Hanson (Executive Director, 2004-2015).  During this period, she has also served as an officer for the Musical Arts Association, the non-profit governing board for The Cleveland Orchestra, preparing and assisting with ongoing communication among varying constituencies, from the board to staff and musicians.  Over the past decade, she has taken on additional responsibilities as personal assistant to Franz Welser-Möst, working on a wide range of tasks and duties to ensure the smooth functioning of the Music Director’s institutional, community, and social commitments.

“Thirty-one years of exemplary service define Rosemary Klena’s significant contributions to the life and strength of The Cleveland Orchestra ── and as an essential presence in the work and achievements of the Orchestra’s executive leadership,” commented Dennis W. LaBarre, the Orchestra’s Board President.  “Few people have served the Orchestra in more ways, over a longer period of time, and with greater dedication than Rosemary Klena.  She has been a vital, indispensable member of The Cleveland Orchestra family, and, in recognition of her unfailing service to the institution, we are delighted to present her with the organization’s highest award for distinguished service.” 

The Musical Arts Association established the annual Distinguished Service Award in 1996 to recognize ongoing and extraordinary service to the Orchestra.  Recipients are chosen from written nominations reviewed by a committee currently chaired by Musical Arts Association Trustee Marguerite B. Humphrey.

Previous Distinguished Service Award recipients are: 
    Dorothy Humel Hovorka (1996-97)
    David Zauder (1997-98)
    Ward Smith (1998-99)
    Christoph von Dohnányi (1999-2000)
    Gary Hanson (2000-01)
    John Mack (2001-02)
    Richard J. Bogomolny (2002-03)
    Thomas W. Morris (2003-04)
    Alex Machaskee (2004-05)
    Klaus G. Roy (2005-06)
    John D. Ong (2006-07)
    Gerald Hughes (2007-08)
    Louis Lane (2008-09)
    Clara Taplin Rankin (2009-10)
    Robert Conrad (2010-11)
    Richard Weiner (2011-12)
    Milton and Tamar Maltz (2012-13)
    Pierre Boulez (2013-14)
    James D. Ireland III (2014-15)