In Focus: Season 2 (Adella Premium) Aftersilence

Event Information

  • Dates: February 4, 2022 Now Available On-Demand

  • Who: The Cleveland Orchestra Franz Welser-Möst, conductor

  • Venue: Adella Online (

Event Dates and Tickets

Friday, February 4, 2022 7:00PM

Watch on Adella


About the Music

ABRAHAMSEN  Vers le silence

BRAHMS  Piano Concerto No. 2

Emerging from a collective period of silence and reflection, Franz Welser-Möst and The Cleveland Orchestra launch the second In Focus season with a fitting program: one exploring the experience of silence, whether before a composer sketches the first bars of a new work or the expectant moments before a performance. Episode 1: Aftersilence features the world premiere of Hans Abrahamsen’s Vers le silence and Brahms’s Piano Concerto No. 2 featuring soloist Igor Levit. The episode also includes interviews with Welser-Möst, principal horn Nathaniel Silberschlag and Abrahamsen, from his composing base in Denmark through the first performance in Cleveland.


Performing Artists

The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Igor Levit, piano


Program Notes

A printable PDF version of the program notes for this episode is available to view from your web browser.

Print-Friendly Program


Episode Details

In addition to the concert performances, each episode of In Focus includes behind-the-scenes interviews and features about the music and musicmaking. Episodes of In Focus: Season 2 feature selections from the second half of the 2021-22 classical season at Severance, though they are not full live concerts.

Watch online with Adella

Adella is our brand-new digital streaming app, offering you Cleveland Orchestra performances anytime, anywhere. Named after the ensemble’s pioneering founder, Adella Prentiss Hughes, our new streaming service & app offers both free and Premium content — including our premium In Focus concert broadcast series.

How to Watch

Browse All Episodes