Adella (Digital Broadcast) Remembrance & Reflection

Event Information

  • Dates: November 9, 2021 Premieres Free at 7pm (ET)

  • Who: The Cleveland Orchestra Franz Welser-Möst, conductor

  • Venue: Adella Online (

Event Dates and Tickets

Tuesday, November 9, 2021 7:00PM

Watch Free on Adella


About the Music

Mozart  Adagio and Fugue in C minor

Weinberg  Symphony No. 2 (for string orchestra)

Mieczys┼éaw Weinberg is among the lost composers of the 20th century. Raised in Poland, he was the only member of his family to survive World War II. He fled the Nazi invasion in 1939 and eventually landed in Moscow in 1943. Befriended by Shostakovich, his musical style evolved in complexity and range — balancing his mentor’s sarcasm and finesse with Mahlerian ambition and grandeur. His Symphony No. 2 dates from just after the war’s end, offering a musical work of nostalgic warmth, grace, and reflection. Mozart wrote his Adagio and Fugue in 1783, built on a theme he earlier penned for two pianos. This magisterial work for strings offers serious and animated expression from the depths of Mozart’s genius.


Performing Artists

The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor


Digital Program Notes

Read about or learn more about the works performed in this online broadcast, available online from whichever device you prefer.

Read Program Notes

Watch online with Adella

Adella is our brand-new digital streaming app, offering you Cleveland Orchestra performances anytime, anywhere. Named after the ensemble’s pioneering founder, Adella Prentiss Hughes, our new streaming service & app offers both free and Premium content — including this season’s new, premium In Focus concert series.

Learn More

Browse All Episodes