2022 Miami Residency Tchaikovsky’s Fourth

Event Information

  • Dates: January 21-22, 2022 Tickets Available

  • Who: The Cleveland Orchestra Franz Welser-Möst, conductor

  • Venue: Knight Concert Hall, Adrienne Arsht Center Miami, FL

About the Music

SHCHEDRIN Carmen-Suite (complete ballet music for percussion and string orchestra)

TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4

Passionate Music, Passionate Lives. This concert offers two dramatic works in which each composer poured out his heart and exposed his soul.

Tchaikovsky sought refuge in music when his life was in disarray — he entered into a disastrous marriage that only lasted six weeks. Nearly mad with passion, he poured out his feelings into his Fourth Symphony and the act of writing the music itself helped to rebalance his sanity — saying of the finale, “rejoice in the happiness of others, and you can still live.”

Bizet’s colorful and flamboyant opera Carmen, with its eye-popping portrayal of on-the-street living filled with smoking, fighting, and drinking women, scandalized Parisian audiences but became wildly famous for its music and emotional intensity. Franz Welser-Möst offers a different look at this beloved work through a brilliant arrangement for string orchestra and percussion, created as a ballet score by Russian composer Rodion Shchedrin for his dancer wife, prima ballerina Maya Plisetskaya. The intense passions of this famously tune-filled opera are revealed in unexpected detail across thirteen movements, just begging you to dance.


Performing Artists

The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor