Symphony Night Live (Digital Broadcast) Mahler’s Resurrection

Event Information

  • Dates: November 12, 2022 On Symphony Night Live

  • Who: The Cleveland Orchestra Franz Welser-Möst, conductor

  • Venue: Symphony Media (Digital) Online (

Event Dates and Tickets

Saturday, November 12, 2022 7:00PM

Watch on Symphony

About the Music

Mahler  Symphony No. 2 ("Resurrection")

Some pieces of music are so stirring, so electrifying that audiences are transfixed by their inherent emotional power. Mahler’s passionate and tempestuous Second Symphony – about humanity’s search for meaning in life and death — is such a work. Composed for a massive orchestra, choir, and soloists, it is riveting from its darkly ferocious opening to its exhilarating, ecstatic finale.


Performing Artists

The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Lauren Snouffer, soprano
Marie-Nicole Lemieux, mezzo-soprano
Cleveland Orchestra Chorus

Program Notes

Discover informative commentary and background information about the music, composers, and performing artists featured in this program.

Read Program Notes

Watch online with Adella

Adella is our digital streaming app, offering you Cleveland Orchestra performances anytime, anywhere. Named after the ensemble’s pioneering founder, Adella Prentiss Hughes, our new streaming service & app offers both free and Premium content — including our premium In Focus concert broadcast series.

How to Watch


Autograph Manuscript of Gustav Mahler's Symphony No. 2 to be on display

This historic gift to the Orchestra was generously donated by one of its Trustees, the noted Austrian media executive and philanthropist Herbert G. Kloiber.

In celebration of this exceptional event, this weekend's concerts will be preceded by a public viewing of the manuscript, free of charge, on September 28 from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. in the Bogomolny-Kozerefski Grand Foyer of Severance Music Center and it will be on display for those attending the September 29 and 30 concerts.

Written in the composer’s own hand in 1894, the 232-page, unaltered document is the only complete autograph manuscript of the complete symphony in existence, and it contains the invaluable marks of Mahler’s alterations and annotations.

Continue Reading