Summers@Severance: Franz, Beethoven & Strauss
Default Image Blossom Image

Summers@Severance: Franz, Beethoven & Strauss

[Error: Unable to find the property named 'CustomProperty3'.]


The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Igor Levit, piano

Beethoven wrote his Piano Concerto No. 4 under the influence of Mozart, while Strauss wrote his Symphonia Domestica under the influence of his wife, Pauline. Composed at the same time as his Fifth Symphony, Beethoven’s Fourth Piano Concerto is by contrast more lyrical and elegant.  Strauss’s Symphonia Domestica is a humorous portrait of the composer’s stormy and steamy domestic life.

At a Glance
BEETHOVEN - Piano Concerto No. 4
STRAUSS - Symphonia domestica

The Cleveland Orchestra's
Summers@Severance series

is sponsored by Thompson Hine LLP

Back to Top


Back to Top