Meet the Musicians

of The Cleveland Orchestra

The 100-plus members of The Cleveland Orchestra perform together year round, at the group’s home at Severance Hall, its summer home at Blossom Music Center, on tours in the United States and around the world, and at residencies such as Miami and Vienna. They make their homes in communities across the Cleveland metropolitan area, raising children and pursuing a range of hobbies and interests beyond their musical professions.

Begin Exploring About Us

Music Director

Franz Welser-Möst

Kelvin Smith Family Chair

Franz Welser-Möst is among today’s most distinguished conductors. The 2020-21 season marks his nineteenth year as music director of The Cleveland Orchestra, with the future of this acclaimed partnership extending into the next decade.

Explore by Section

Get to know us by role or instrument family, and then get to know each musician by selecting their name.

"America's Finest"

-The New York Times

Each musician was asked to join The Cleveland Orchestra following a rigorous audition process that often attract hundreds of applications for each opening. The members represent the best orchestral musicians on Earth. They have earned degrees from the world's best schools and conservatories, with many now serving as teachers at colleges and universities across Northeast Ohio.


Music Director Laureate

Christoph von Dohnányi

Vinay Parameswaran

Assistant Conductor
Elizabeth Ring and William Gwinn Mather Endowed Chair
Music Director
Cleveland Orchestra Youth Orchestra
Director of Choruses

Lisa Wong

Frances P. and Chester C. Bolton Chair

First Violins

First Associate Concertmaster

Peter Otto

Virginia M. Lindseth, PhD, Chair
Associate Concertmaster

Jung-Min Amy Lee

Gretchen D. and Ward Smith Chair
Assistant Concertmaster

Jessica Lee

Clara G. and George P. Bickford Chair
Assistant Concertmaster

Stephen Tavani

Takako Masame

Paul and Lucille Jones Chair

Wei-Fang Gu

Drs. Paul M. and Renate H. Duchesneau Chair

Kim Nolen Gomez

Elizabeth and Leslie Kondorossy Chair

Chul-In Park

Harriet T. and David L. Simon Chair

Miho Hashizume

Theodore Rautenberg Chair

Jeanne Preucil Rose

Larry J.B. and Barbara S. Robinson Chair

Alicia Koelz

Oswald and Phyllis Lerner Gilroy Chair

Yu Yuan

Patty and John Collinson Chair

Isabel Trautwein

Trevor and Jennie Jones Chair

Mark Dumm

Gladys B. Goetz Chair

Second Violins


Stephen Rose

Alfred M. and Clara T. Rankin Chair
Assistant Principal

Emilio Llinás

James and Donna Reid Chair
First Assistant Principal

Eli Matthews

Patricia M. Kozerefski and Richard J. Bogomolny Chair

Emma Shook

Dr. Jeanette Grasselli Brown and Dr. Glenn R. Brown Chair



Wesley Collins

Chaillé H. and Richard B. Tullis Chair
First Assistant Principal

Lynne Ramsey

Charles M. and Janet G. Kimball Chair
Assistant Principal Viola

Stanley Konopka

Mark Jackobs

Jean Wall Bennett Chair

Lisa Boyko

Richard and Nancy Sneed Chair

Lembi Veskimets

The Morgan Sisters Chair



Mark Kosower

Louis D. Beaumont Chair
First Assistant Principal

Richard Weiss

The GAR Foundation Chair
Assistant Principal

Charles Bernard

Helen Weil Ross Chair

Bryan Dumm

Muriel and Noah Butkin Chair

Tanya Ell

Thomas J. and Judith Fay Gruber Chair

Brian Thornton

William P. Blair III Chair



Maximilian Dimoff

Clarence T. Reinberger Chair
First Assistant Principal

Scott Haigh

Mary E. and F. Joseph Callahan Chair

Henry Peyrebrune

Charles Barr Memorial Chair



Trina Struble

Alice Chalifoux Chair



Joshua Smith

Elizabeth M. and William C. Treuhaft Chair
Assistant Principal

Jessica Sindell

Austin B. and Ellen W. Chair

Mary Kay Fink

Principal Piccolo
Anne M. and M. Roger Clapp Endowed Chair



Frank Rosenwein

Edith S. Taplin Chair

Corbin Stair

Sharon and Yoash Wiener Chair
Assistant Principal

Jeffrey Rathbun

Everett D. and Eugenia S. McCurdy Chair

Robert Walters

English Horn
Samuel C. and Bernette K. Jaffe Chair



Afendi Yusuf

Robert Marcellus Chair

Robert Woolfrey

Victoire G. and Alfred M. Rankin, Jr. Chair
Assistant Principal

Daniel McKelway

Robert R. and Vilma L. Kohn Chair

E-flat Clarinet
Stanley L. and Eloise M. Morgan Chair



John Clouser

Louise Harkness Ingalls Chair
Assistant Principal

Barrick Stees

Sandra L. Haslinger Chair

Jonathan Sherwin




Nathaniel Silberschlag

George Szell Memorial Chair
Assistant Principal

Michael Mayhew

Knight Foundation Chair

Jesse McCormick

Robert B. Benyo Chair



Michael Sachs

Robert and Eunice Podis Weiskopf Chair

Mary Elizabeth and G. Robert Klein Chair
Assistant Principal

Lyle Steelman

James P. and Dolores D. Storer Chair


Assistant Principal

Shachar Israel

Robert and Eunice Podis Weiskopf Chair

Richard Stout

Alexander and Marianna C. McAfee Chair

Euphonium and Bass Trumpet



Yasuhito Sugiyama

Nathalie C. Spence and Nathalie S. Boswell Chair



Paul Yancich

Otto G. and Corinne T. Voss Chair
Assistant Principal

Tom Freer

Mr. and Mrs. Richard K. Smucker Chair




Marc Damoulakis

Otto G. and Corinne T. Voss Chair

Keyboard Instruments


Joela Jones

Rudolf Serkin Chair

Carolyn Gadiel Warner

Marjory and Marc L. Swartzbaugh Chair


Head Librarian

Robert O’Brien

Joe and Marlene Toot Chair

Endowed Chairs Currently Unoccupied

Previously held by former musicians of The Cleveland Orchestra, these chairs were made by possible by the generosity of those who deeply believe in our mission, music, and legacy.

  • Sidney and Doris Dworkin Chair
  • Blossom-Lee Chair
  • Sunshine Chair
  • Myrna and James Spira Chair
  • Gilbert W. and Louise I. Humphrey Chair