Default Image Blossom Image

Hamelin Plays Liszt

[Error: Unable to find the property named 'CustomProperty3'.]


The Cleveland Orchestra
Dima Slobodeniouk, conductor
Marc-André Hamelin, piano

Concert Details

Liszt’s musical and personal passions were legendary.  His long hair and penetrating eyes gave him the look of a rock star.  His virtuosity at the keyboard was unmatched  — and people traveled for days to hear him play.  His First Piano Concerto brings together bravura daring with intense lyricism and poise.  Acclaimed pianist Marc-André Hamelin, “known for a technical finesse that borders on the supernatural” (Seattle Times), brings his own consummate musicianship to this dazzlingly brilliant work.  The concert also features one of Rachmaninoff's most evocative tone poems and a brilliant symphony by the Danish composer Carl Nielsen, in which a snare drum battles against the other musicians on stage.

At a Glance
RACHMANINOFF - Isle of the Dead
LISZT - Piano Concerto No. 1
NIELSEN - Symphony No. 5

Back to Top

Pre-Concert Talks

Free Concert Preview:
"Struggle, Rest, and Triumph"
with speaker Rose Breckenridge, lecturer-administrator,
    Cleveland Orchestra Music Study Groups

Reinberger Chamber Hall in Severance Hall

Concert Previews are free to all ticketholders.  Previews are held prior to every Cleveland Orchestra subscription concert, beginning 1 hour before the performance.  This series is funded by a generous endowment gift from Dorothy Humel Hovorka.

Back to Top

Program Books

Information and background about the music are printed in program books distributed free-of-charge at most Cleveland Orchestra concerts. The program notes are usually available on-line ahead of time (see links below).

On-Line FlipBook
Click or tap here to read the program book for these concerts as an online flipbook, best viewed on a desktop or tablet computer.  (2019-20 Weeks 3-4-5; published on October 9.)

Mobile-Friendly ExpressBook (
Or click or tap here to read about the concert on your phone with our mobile-friendly ExpressBook, available the week of the concert.

Back to Top

Food & Drink

From the elegant Severance Restaurant to our varied concessions and stylish Opus Lounge, Severance Hall can effortlessly transform your concert experience into an evening with The Cleveland Orchestra.

For our current menus and information on our various offerings, visit our Dining section.

To make a reservation at Severance Restaurant,
please call 216-231-7373 anytime, or reserve online:

Reserve Your Table

Back to Top


There are a number of parking options around Severance Hall, the most convenient one being Case Western Reserve University's Campus Center Garage (entrance off East Blvd.).

Pre-Paid Parking (Campus Center Garage)
Parking passes can be purchased in advance during the online ticketing process, through most concert pages (see under "Buy Tickets," above, for availability), or by calling the Ticket Office (216-231-1111). Availability is limited, and parking passes are only valid for specific dates and concerts.

For additional parking options in the University Circle area surrounding Severance Hall,  view this printable map.

For more parking tips and information, see our section on Directions & Parking.

Back to Top