2023-24 Miami Residency Welser-Möst conducts Brahms

Event Information

  • Dates: January 26-27, 2024 Tickets Available

  • Who: The Cleveland Orchestra Franz Welser-Möst, conductor

  • Venue: Adrienne Arsht Center Miami, FL

About the Music

KNUSSEN Cleveland Pictures

BRUCH Violin Concerto

BRAHMS Symphony No. 1


“I shall never write a symphony,” Brahms said when young. He was fearful of the inevitable comparisons to Beethoven, and it took the otherwise prolific composer 14 years to produce his first symphony. When it was unveiled, audiences joyfully dubbed it “Beethoven’s Tenth”, in part because the great melody of the finale resembles the Ode to Joy ("any ass can see that", Brahms said). But Brahms has emerged from under Beethoven’s shadow and his first symphony, with its rich melodies and colorful orchestrations is recognized as one of the great composers in his own right, and his first symphony is a magnificent work in its own right. Renowned violinist Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider joins the orchestra for Bruch’s popular violin concerto.


Performing Artists

The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider, violin


Presented in partnership with the Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts

The Adrienne Arsht Center

Set in the heart of downtown Miami, the Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts of Miami-Dade County is committed to welcoming and connecting ALL people to the arts, to the Arsht Center and to each other. All stages are alive year-round with artists from around the world, innovative programming from resident companies and local arts partners, free community events that reflect Miami’s unique identity and arts education experiences for thousands of Miami children each year.

For more information, please visit Adrienne Arsht Center's official website.

Learn More